Board of Directors

Organizational Structure:  Each shareholder appoints a Board member for a term of one year or more.  The Board elects and executive consisting of President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer.  The Board meets monthly in various locations.  The board operates under a general policy transparency, inclusiveness and equality.  All shareholders have an equal voice at the decision-making table.  The Board may appoint sub-committees to conduct work on behalf of the board on certain topics.


Board Members

Miles Fuller

Director (Regional District of Bulkley Nechako – Area E)

Miles is a 40 plus year resident of the Burns Lake area.  His lengthy career and involvement in the forest industry includes Land and Resource Management Plan (L.R.M.P.) co-chair for the Lakes District and Past President for the Federation of BC Woodlot Associations.

Shannon Haizimsque

Vice President
Director (Wet’suwet’en First Nation)

Shannon is the Chief Operating Officer for Yinka Dene Economic Development General Partner (YLP) and member of the Wet’suwet’en First Nation. Shannon has completed her Business Administration Degree with a focus in Human Resources (HR) in December 2012. Along with her HR background, she has held leadership positions within her community of Wet’suwet’en First Nation (WFN), as well as the Carrier Sekani Family Services board and Saik’uz First Nation where she was the Operations Manager. While her primary focus is in HRM, her skill set is balanced out by successful work experience with the Northern First Nation communities, including management, leadership, communication, social marketing, event planning and philanthropy. Shannon remains committed to the meaningful and lasting improvement of her community and those around it.

Cindy Shelford

Director (Regional District of Bulkley Nechako – Area B)

Cindy Shelford, was born and raised in Burns Lake. Cindy is a advocate for sustainable, renewable resource management and forest stewardship.

Rilla Middleton

Director (Skin Tyee Nation)

Currently Vacant

Director (Burns Lake Band)

Duane Crouse

Director (Lake Babine Nation)

Duane Crouse was born and raised in Burns Lake. Duane was exposed to forestry at a very young age where his family owned and operated a woodlot north west of Francios Lake. Duane has spent the last 17 years working as a first aid level 3 attended and a red seal heavy duty mechanic. July 15, 2019 Duane was appointed to the Chinook Community Forest board on behalf of Lake Babine Nation. Duane looks forward to working with other board members.

James Rakochy

Director (Cheslatta Carrier Nation)

James grew up in Saskatchewan on the family grain farm.  He attended the University of Saskatchewan and the University College of the Caribou in Kamloops.  James continued his career tree planting in BC and working for Canfor in Prince George in numerous capacities including Silviculture, Harvesting and Road building; Block and Road Layout; and as the Underwater Logging Supervisor in the Nechako Reservoir.  James is currently the Land and Resource Manager for the Cheslatta Carrier Nation, the Cheslatta Community Forest Manager and is a former board member of Cheslatta Forest Products.

Paul Davidson

Director (Village of Burns Lake)

Paul is a Registered Forest Technologist (RFT retired) with the Association of BC Forest Professionals.  In his forestry career, he has worked in northwest Ontario, northern Alberta, and northern British Columbia.  In Fort Nelson, BC he worked in various positions for Slocan Forest Products and Canfor including Logging Superintendent and Area Supervisor for nine years.  Paul was also, briefly, a part owner in a large logging and hauling company in Fort Nelson where he supervised the forest operations and log hauling.  When the mills closed in Fort Nelson, he worked for 9 years with Kledo Construction Ltd as their Health and Safety Coordinator before retiring. In 2017, Paul and his wife, Joan, retired to Burns Lake and have a home on Babine Lake where they can enjoy the natural beauty of the area forests and lakes.

Kieran Broderick

Director (Nee Tahi Buhn Indian Band)

Kieran Broderick is a Registered Professional Forester with the Association of BC Forest Professionals.  He also has a Bachelor of Natural Resource Science Degree from the University College of the Cariboo, Kamloops, BC.  Kieran has been the Land and Resources Advisor with the Nee Tahi Buhn Indian Band for the last 8 years.  In 2020, he was appointed President of Dicin Forestry LP (a Limited Partnership amongst the 6 First Nations in the Lakes TSA).  Kieran also works with Treaty 8 First Nations in Northeastern BC and Northwestern Alberta on land and resource management initiatives including forestry, oil and gas, mining and renewable energy.  The Nee Tahi Buhn Indian Band Chief and Council appointed Kieran to the Chinook Comfor Board in July 2019. 

Board Policy

Share This